Binary Clock

Reloj Binario content

Event Calendar

June 2018
S M T W T F S
27 28 29 30 31 1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30

Upcoming Events

No events

Translate

English French German Italian Korean Portuguese Spanish
Are Your Files Securely Deleted? Print

 

If you delete files by just using the delete button in program or Windows Explorer file deletion they are not really deleted off your computer hard drive.
 
All Windows does is change the first character of the file name to '?', such as from 'abc.doc' to '?bc.doc' in the hard drive table of file names. By changing the file name, the file becomes invisible to the Windows user. The file is still on the computer hard drive, just waiting for someone with the right computer tools to make the file visible and readable again for good or evil purposes.
 
If your computer has a large hard drive, files can be recovered months or years later. Recovering information, you thought was gone forever. To securely delete these files you must have a wipe information program to do the secure file deletion for you. This type of program writes patterns of characters in the location on the hard drive where your information is stored.
 
This is why special computer tools must be used to delete all traces of files from computer hard drives, before the hard drives are discarded or a system is reloaded after a virus/spyware attack.
 
Commonly, Evil Virus and Spyware builders, place their programs on your hard drive in such a way that formatting your computer hard drive with your manufacture's CD does not remove these root infections. They are just reloaded when Windows is reloaded from your manufacture's CD.
 
This one of the most common reasons why computers become infected a short time after the reinstallation of the operating system.
 
During a system reload your hard drive must be completely erased before reloading the Windows operating system, so your system starts out Virus/Spyware free.